Steve Smith wins Border Medal for 2nd time

SYDNEY — Australia skipper Steve Smith has won the Border Medal, awarded to the country's male cricketer of the year, for the second time.

Smith, who also claimed the honor in 2015, polled 246 votes, 84 more than vice-captain David Warner, who won the award the last two years.

Former skippers Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke won the Medal four times.

Smith, who led Australia to a 4-0 Ashes test series win over England earlier this year, amassed 1,754 runs in 24 tests and one-dayers at an average of 67.46 during the voting period.

He was also named test player of the year ahead of spinner Nathan Lyon after scoring 1,305 runs in 11 games at an average of 81.56, with six centuries. That included his highest test score, 239, in the third match against England.

Ellyse Perry was named women's player of the year, polling 116 votes to finish ahead of Beth Mooney with 78.

Perry's 213 not out in November's Ashes test against England is the highest by an Australian woman and the third highest overall in tests.

The Border Medal is named after former Australia captain Allan Border.

People also read these

Kyrgios withdraws from doubles at Australian Open

Jan 19, 2017

Nick Kyrgios has withdrawn from the doubles at the Australian Open with an abdominal injury, a day...

Chinese sportswear brand makes inroads in tennis...

Jan 20, 2017

Svetlana Kuznetsova has a different look than most tennis players

Serena Williams, Nadal, look to book Australian...

Jan 24, 2017

Australian Open quarterfinalists Serena Williams and Johanna Konta have never met on a tennis...

The Latest: Federer races into Australian Open...

Jan 24, 2017

Roger Federer has advanced to the Australian Open semifinals with a 6-1, 7-5, 6-2 win over Mischa...

Williams, Lucic-Baroni win in throwback...

Jan 25, 2017

When Mirjana Lucic-Baroni served out her victory at the Australian Open on Wednesday, making the...

Get your 24-hour live updates here in Ultimate Sports Daily. We deliver content from all regions so that you won’t miss out on any single event.

Contact us: sales[at]